, pub-9453835310745500, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0
Posted in hierarchy of IAS

Designation hierarchy of IAS officers

Indian Administrative Service is one of the most elite goverment service in India. Usually IAS offciers are promoted every 5–10 years and with every promotion their responsibility and work multiplies too.

As far as your question is concerned, below is the designation hierarchy of an IAS officer :-

Posted in Duties of IAS

The appearance power of an IAS

What is the appearance power of an IAS?

The IAS officer is responsible for the entire district. Therefore, the authority of district administration is in their hands.

1.) Leadership:-

As an IAS officer acts as government representative at whichever position they are deployed. Being part of the government, the IAS officer needs to show exceptional leadership skills and guide others towards a unified goal of development and betterment of people of India.

2.) Administration :-

One of the key responsibilities entrusted to an IAS officer by the government, is to look after the day to day administrative affairs of their jurisdictional area. To fulfil this responsibility and be able to meet all administrative tasks by building a general consensus, the IAS officer needs to be an able administrator.

Image from google

3.) Honesty:-

Corruption is the biggest problem in government machinery and despite several efforts from numerous governments no long lasting and effective solution has been found to this problem. Being responsible for administration, finance and law-order of a jurisdictional area, gives an IAS officer immense power to curb this problem. An officer with high sense of personal integrity and honesty can lead the charge against problems like corruption and put an end to this menace.

4.) Patriotism:-

This is the single most important quality that an IAS officer should possess. Keeping your country before one’s personal interest may sound very easy and idealistic, but when implemented will have a monumental impact on. The single most important task that IAS officers are entrusted with is to build an India for tomorrow; and being a patriot will guide all the actions of a person in a way that benefits the country.

Image from google

5.) At Sub-Divisional Level:-

IAS officers are posted at sub-divisional level on the post of sub-divisional magistrate at the beginning of their career. Here, they have to maintain law & order as well as look after general administrative and developmental work in the area allotted under their jurisdiction.

5.) At District Level: 

IAS officers are deployed on District Magistrate’s post or as a District Collector or Deputy Commissioner.The responsibilities and associated powers of IAS officer at district level remain same. They have to look after administrative affairs of the district and implement and supervise developmental work in the area allotted under their jurisdiction.

6.) Facilities:-

a) Residence:- IAS officers generally get huge houses as residences on very low or no rent. They also can avail of the services of maids, cooks, gardeners, security guards, etc. DM gets a bungalow to stay. And SDM gets possibly flat. It depends on the city.

(Image from Google)

b) Transport:- They are allotted one or more vehicles with chauffeurs for official purposes. Also 1 or 2 policemen are there for security.

Image from google.

c) Bills: They generally get free or highly subsidised electricity, water, gas and phone connections.

d)Job Security:- IAS officers have enviable job security. It is not easy to fire an officer and the process requires extensive investigations and inquiries. IAS family protection is provided if needed.

Posted in Training(IAS)

Training Schedule for IAS

IAS Officer Training Schedule :-

Training Centre – Lal Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration (LBSNAA),Mussoorie.


Their are five hostels in LBSNAA for the OT’s. They are as follows,

This one is Ganga.

This one is Kaveri.

This one is Narmada.

This one is Silver wood.

And at last, this one is Happy valley.

These are the five lavish hostels provided to the OT’s. And the Silver Wood hostel has been rated the best in all the five by many officers. As it has the best views.

And their are many more other residentials. Like the guest house and some for the training purposes. Comment me if you want me to add them up too!

So this all happens to be their hostels, lets move into their rooms.

Messy right?

Now what? Their training part! Main one.

Well, their training is broadly divided into two categories. One is the Indoor and the other one is obviously the Outdoor.

In Indoor classes/activities, they are oriented to the administrative, social, economic and political environment of the country, Generate awareness of the challenges and opportunities within the Civil Services and many more.

And in outdoor activities, self-explanatory. Physical activities.

LBSNAA has an amazing sports complex with facilities for athletics, football, cricket, volleyball, squash, tennis, badminton, yoga, basketball, billiards, table tennis, etc. It also has a modern gym.

Apart from this, the trainees are also trained in horse-riding, shooting, archery, self-defence, rock climbing, etc. The officer trainees are also taken for mountaineering, trekking, river rafting, parasailing, bungee jumping and other adventure sports.

Am attaching few pics of these. Here you go,

The IAS training programme schedule is given below:

  1. Foundation Course (15 weeks)
  2. Phase-I (22 weeks approximately)
  3. District Training (52 Weeks)
  4. Phase-II (6 Weeks approximately)
  5. Assistant Secretary-ship (2–3 months)
Posted in Age for Preparation

What is the common age when most people crack the UPSC exam?

As a matter of fact, people of all ages crack UPSC from 21 years of age to 40 years of age, But as far as I have observed, the most common age when most people crack UPSC is from 23–27. Of course people aged below this age bracket or above this bracket also crack the exam but their number is less.

Most of successful candidates fall in 23–27 years of age bracket. Let’s observe age of toppers of UPSC CSE 2018:-

Kanishak Kataria, AIR 1, UPSC CSE 2018 ( age 26)

Akshat Jain, AIR 2, UPSC CSE 2018 ( age 23)

Junaid Ahmad, AIR 3, UPSC CSE 2018 ( Age 27)

Shreyansh Kumat, AIR 4, UPSC CSE 2018 ( Age 23–24)

Srushti Jayant Deshmukh, AIR 5, UPSC CSE 2018 ( Age 23)

Shubham Gupta, AIR 6, UPSC CSE 2018 ( Age 25)

Karnati Varun Reddy, AIR 7, UPSC CSE 2018 ( Age around 25–26)

Vaishali Singh, AIR 8, UPSC CSE 2018 ( Age 27)

Gunjan Dwivedi, AIR 9, UPSC CSE 2018 ( Age 24)

Tanmay Vashistha, AIR 10, UPSC CSE 2018 ( Age 26)

So, as we can see, all of the successful candidates in top 10 fall in the age bracket of 23–27. That why, as per my observation, most of the successful candidates fall in the age bracket of 23–27 ( except for few other who fall below or above this age bracket).